The Broad is Back!

April 6, 2014

Poor Education Spells Death of Freedom

“The only sure bulwark of continuing liberty is a government strong enough to protect the interests of the people, and a people strong enough and well enough informed to maintain its sovereign control over the government.” ~ Franklin D. Roosevelt

The longer I’m back in America, the more my heart is breaking.  When I came back almost seven years ago now, I was frankly shocked by the difference in the freshmen I started to teach. Their skills were worse; their knowledge base was worse; and their critical thinking skills were practically non-existent. I was teaching the same demographic I had taught before I left, so that wasn’t a factor.

 

The bulk of my teaching is at urban community colleges, but since I’ve been back I’ve taught at elite schools and middle ranked private and state schools as well.  The only differences I see are classroom skills levels, or in some cases, the ability to quickly adapt classroom skills.

 

 

I am slowly and surely becoming convinced that liberty is at stake here: my students’ as well as my country’s.  I have written about this before, so obviously this is pressing on me.  I don’t actually have time to write now.  I have one week left until spring break, and I have much to accomplish before then. But I think during that break I will take the time to work out some of my ideas on this blog.

 

 

But in the meantime, look to your children’s education. Look to your own education. Who is behind educational reform? If you say “government” or “the overly strong federal government” please look again.

 

 

Look to your sources of information about what’s going on in the United States. Look beyond the razzle dazzle of partisan politics, the rhetoric of Left and Right. Most of that is absolutely meaningless.

 

 

We the people, a hackneyed phrase, perhaps, but we the people have got to rise up and let our voices be heard. So many people try to argue that “they” are trying to make America a “godless country”. That will never happen, because right now, the mightiest god worshiped here in Mammon.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

