The Broad is Back!

March 22, 2010

On racism, imbeciles and diversity–the health care debate?

Filed under: American culture,New Broads — by maggiec @ 7:46 pm
Tags: , , ,

Today I have a special guest writer!  My cousin Dolores wrote a great email that she sent to her friends and family, and I asked her permission to post here since she doesn’t blog herself.  So without further ado, here’s Dolores!

In the past couple of days, I have watched incredible scenes on TV that appear to be regurgitating the base hatred of some people towards their fellow-man. 
 
One of those scenes was the verbal kicking of an elderly man with Parkinson’s who was unable to stand any longer and was sitting on the sidewalk with his placard supporting health care reform.  The imbeciles screaming and yelling at him, insulting him, throwing dollar bills at him were mind-numbing — all because they disagreed with his opinion.
 
The other scene – perhaps even worse – was shown yesterday of the tea party faithful in D.C. screaming the “n” word, repeatedly, at black members of Congress & the “fa–ot” word at Rep. Barney Frank,
walking up the steps of Congress.  This scene, in the year of 2010, was reminiscent of the scene in Boston in the early 70’s (yes, nearly FORTY years ago people!), of whites protesting school busing.  I was living there at the time and I was horrified by the epithets being spewed at blacks because all they were asking for was a decent education.  There was one photo taken at the time that went around the world, of an enraged young white man, waving a large American flag, which he then used to attack a black man.  That photo said it all and put everything in the proper perspective.  It so shocked the people of Boston that the wind quickly went out of the sails of those protesters and calm slowly came to the city.  All I can hope and pray for is that the terribleness of yesterday on the steps of Congress will shake up the people in this great country and they will say – enough is enough!
 
In retrospect, I know that I was one of the few who was lucky enough to attend Flushing High School from 1949-1953.  It was an oasis of “diversity” that was not the norm (in fact, we would not have even known what the word meant then)…..there were many black students – one very popular guy who went on to become a famous comedian, Godfrey Cambridge, was a couple of years ahead of me, and he was elected an officer of the student governing group.  Can you imagine…..early 1950’s!  I do not remember one incident of racial hatred disrupting any classes while I was in school.  The kids were accepted for who they were and what they could contribute….as I said, an oasis.  Those four years were my “breeding ground” towards acceptance, and every day, I thank God for them. 
 
I will never understand bigotry, and overt racism makes me physically ill.  When I hear comments from those I know, I cringe and the worth of their character drops in my eyes.  This is my special comment for the day!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

