The Broad is Back!

March 21, 2010

Bumpy ride on the information highway

Filed under: American culture,media,New Broads — by maggiec @ 4:54 pm
Tags: , ,

It all started so innocently. I just wanted to know what an aquiline nose looked like. I have seen so many different noses called aquiline, so I wanted guidance. It’s the same thing as a Roman nose, hence my confusion.

But if you google “aquiline nose” and actually look a some of the text you will find with the pictures, you might be struck anew, as I was, at how much raw hatred there is in this world.  Unfortunately, all of the specimens I saw came right here from the good old USA.

I stumbled on two white supremacy sites, one “premiere conservative” site that was a bastion of both ignorance and nastiness (and I know many, many intelligent conservatives, and they would be appalled), and one gossip site that in itself was “innocent,” but the people posting wrote some of the most racist things I’ve seen in a long time.  And just so’s you know, it wasn’t just racism, though that was the biggest part of it since I was searching for a nose type.  There was sexism aplenty as well as hatred for those who have different beliefs.  Freedom of thought is fine, as long as you agree with me, I guess.

Anonymous posts seem to give people a license to let it all hang out.  I’m all for free speech, and I am certainly not calling for censoring the internet. But own up to it, people.  You want to spew hate, go ahead, but put your name on it.  I wonder how many would be as free with their opinion if they had to use a name.

There is no such thing as coincidence, and lately I’ve been thinking much about the fervent hate that is building in America.  Some of it is race-based, some of it is class-based and much of it is just plain fed-up-mad-at-the-world hatred and bitterness.  This is something I want to write about this week, so it was a frightening illustration to go poking into places I usually don’t poke.  I’ve written in the past about the America-Roman Empire analogy but lately, I’m seeing another, scarier relationship. I’m thinking America-Court of Versailles.  And the people who are seething with rage and hatred aren’t the people in the palaces.  But more on this another day.

In the meantime, I just wanted to share my perturbed state after cruising on the information highway without a map.  On the plus side, I know what an aquiline nose is, and my hero has one.

1 Comment »

  1. I see more and more hatred on the internet every day, and I hear more and more of it in the hallways of my school, in the language that comes out of the mouths of the teens and yes, the tweens. The language and names they throw around, and they don’t even think about it, or even realize they are doing it a lot of the time. It is ingrained. They aren’t bad kids (in most cases); they are just bombarded with unexpurgated stuff on the internet, on TV, in LIFE. They don’t even know what they are saying. And I am no proponent of censorship, but I see these kids, and their parents need to exercise some some OVERSIGHT at home…and they just don’t. It’s sad. We have the world at our fingertips now, and we don’t know what to do with it, and so many parents turn a blind eye.

    Whoa. OK….off on a tanget venting. It wasn’t exactly what you were talking about, but it’s what it made me think about, and off I went….!

    So….aqualine nose? Is this for the work you’ve recently started? How is it going?

    Comment by Julie — March 21, 2010 @ 5:10 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

