The Broad is Back!

January 22, 2009

Oh Happy Day! The Torture is ending!

Filed under: New Broads,Obama,patriotism,politics,torture,Uncategorized — by maggiec @ 11:16 pm

Tuesdays events were historic, but today’s were almost as  important. President Obama signed executive orders to close Guantanamo Bay prison camp and to stop waterboarding along with other tortures. God bless the man!

America was a great country and will be great again, but for too many years now we’ve been behaving in a morally reprehensible manner.  Because this is my country and I love it fiercely, I hold it to a higher standard.  And if we say we are fighting the good fight, we have to behave properly.  Breaking the Geneva Conventions is wrong.  Torture is wrong.

I have no sympathy for terrorists.  As long as the spirits and accomplishments of  Mahatma Gandhi and Martin Luther King, Jr.  live, no one on earth can convince me of the need for terrorism.  Over the years, in many arguments, people have tried to tell me that oppressed people have no other choice.  That is just wrong.  Yes, I know that there are millions of politically wronged people on this earth, but I will never condone terrorism.  So contrary to my more radically conservative relatives’ claims, I’m not a “bleeding heart liberal”.  Really, I’m not.  I’m not against torture because it’s bad for the tortured.  I’m against it because it’s bad for the torturer.  When someone tortures a prisoner in the name of the United States, it weakens my country.

Finally, we have a president who understands that.

I know that torture works.  I’m quite aware of that fact, and knowing me, if I thought I could save a family member by torturing someone, I’d do it in a heart beat.  But I know I would dehumanize myself in the process.  Something in me would die, and I would be in the wrong.  Expedient, but wrong.

But I am an individual.  My actions are between me and my God.  The United States is a different case.  We can’t tell other countries not to torture, tell them to give prisoners due process of the law, and then turn around and break the same rules ourselves.

According to today’s story in CNN, “The president said he was issuing the order to close the facility in order to ‘restore the standards of due process and the core constitutional values that have made this country great even in the midst of war, even in dealing with terrorism.'”

About the order banning torture, Obama said, “This is me following through … on an understanding that dates back to our founding fathers, that we are willing to observe core standards of conduct not just when it’s easy but also when it’s hard.”

This is a hard decision, but it’s a great one.  Thank you, Mr. President.

1 Comment »

  1. Obama is smart on so many levels for ordering the closure of Guantanamo. It has been a long time coming

    Comment by coffee — January 23, 2009 @ 1:50 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

