The Broad is Back!

October 10, 2008

Sorry, Sarah, You Can’t Have it Both Ways

Filed under: New Broads,Palin,politics — by maggiec @ 10:33 pm

I really should be going to bed right now, but my sister just popped in with the news that a decision has been reached on the Sarah Palin investigation in Alaska.  The panel has found that Palin abused power in the trooper case involving her former brother-in-law.  I immediately logged on to CNN.com and had to laugh out loud after reading this:

A spokeswoman for the McCain-Palin campaign responded by calling the investigation “a partisan-led inquiry” run by supporters of Democratic presidential candidate Sen. Barack Obama, but hailing its finding that Monegan’s firing broke no law.

“Gov. Palin was cleared of the allegation of an improper firing, which is what this investigation was approved to look into,” campaign spokeswoman Meg Stapleton said.

She said the Legislature exceeded its mandate in finding an ethics violation. “Lacking evidence to support the original Monegan allegation, the Legislative Council seriously overreached, making a tortured argument to find fault without basis in law or fact,” she said.

Rep. John Coghill, a Republican who criticized the handling of the investigation, said it was “well-done professionally.” (CNNreport)

Is it just me or does it look like the campaign is trying to have it both ways?  She was cleared on one charge but found guilty of another matter, yet the decision was “a partisan-led inquiry”.  How does that work?  If one decision of the panel is tainted by partisanship, would all decisions be as tainted?   And wasn’t it a bipartisan panel?  Maybe that’s why there was a split decision.  The Dems voted one way, the Republicans another.

I don’t really want to see anyone publically humiliated, but neither would I like to see someone who feels she can blithely rewrite the Constitution sitting in the Executive Office.  We already have someone in there who does that.  I’m sure we’ve all heard the unsubstantiated but unfortunately believable story that President George W. Bush called the Constitution “just a god-damned piece of paper”.  I kinda like that piece of paper.  We don’t always follow it, but for someone who has taken an oath to uphold that Constitution, that’s scary talk.  And Vice President Cheney has an interesting reading of it, as well.

I think most middle school kids know about that checks and balances thing.  They learn it practically effortlessly thanks to School House Rock’s “Three Ringed Circus,” and I know my teachers stressed it in social studies.  It’s shameful that our vice president doesn’t grasp that whole separation of powers concept.

Yet in the debate, Palin did see some wiggle room in the separation.  And now she’s been found to have abused her powers as governor.  According to the report in the New York Times,

The report says she knowingly “permitted Todd Palin to use the governor’s office and the resources of the governor’s office, including access to state employees, to continue to contact subordinate state employees in an effort to find some way to get Trooper Wooten fired.”

Further, it says, she “knowingly permitted a situation to continue where impermissible pressure was placed on several subordinates in order to advance a personal agenda.”

In 2005, Trooper Wooten and the governor’s sister, Molly McCann, were locked in a harsh divorce and child-custody battle that further turned the Palin family against him. The couple divorced in January 2006. (See the whole story here)

I can actually empathize with wanting to crush and destroy someone who is hurting a sibling.  I’ve wanted to hurt people who have hurt my sister and brother.  Still do.  But I don’t, and I think that’s because I’m an intelligent person–oh, and a grown up.  I could do it.  I have the power to hurt people, but I choose not to because it would be petty and childish.  And I’d probably get arrested since my idea of power is driving a BIG truck over someone’s head.  But seriously, I could cause problems that don’t include grievous bodily harm, and I choose not to.  But if I did give in to temptation, I wouldn’t be breaking the people’s trust.    Sarah Palin did.  And she allowed her husband to abuse her office.  That’s a scary thought.

I have no problem with any government official asking a spouse for advice, talking things out with a spouse or trusting a spouse.  Isn’t that the purpose of having one?   But that’s as far as it goes.

I can hear people chanting “Bill and Hill,” and there were times when that pairing raised my eyebrows, too.  I voted for Bill, and then for the next eight years wrote him letters letting him know I wasn’t pleased with his actions at times.

But right now I’m enjoying my moment of gloat.  Most of the spin doctors haven’t started spinning too much yet, and I think I’d better go to bed before they do.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

