The Broad is Back!

June 6, 2008

School’s Out! The Broad is trying to get back!

Filed under: Uncategorized — by maggiec @ 12:22 pm

Teaching full time plus does not leave a lot of time for writing blogs.  It doesn’t leave a lot of time for doing much of anything, actually.  And on many levels this has been an exhausting year–my first back in the US after 13 years.  Back teaching a practically whole new generation American kids.  Most of my students this year were about 5-8 years old when I left America.  I tell you, there’s a huge difference.  I’ll be writing about in the weeks to come, and in fact right now I’m writing an academic paper on that very subject.  I’ll be “treating” you to a mainstream version soon.

Right now I’m processing a lot of what I experienced this year.  And because I’m a writer, I’m going to be writing about it, probably a lot.

I’m also having a great experience right now.  I’m teaching a grad class on American Idealism.  I picked the topic because it is a theme of what I want to address in the book I’m working on.  I thought have a bunch of grad students to talk things through with would help.  It is, immensely.  I’m so lucky to have a great group of multi-disciplinary students–people from history, literature, education and law.  I feel like the pistons are really firing in my brain, so I should be able to write more frequently.

So stay tuned and thanks for your patience!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

