The Broad is Back!

January 17, 2008

So much for the little guy–shame on NBC

Filed under: American culture,Democratic primaries,media,New Broads,protest — by maggiec @ 5:44 pm

I’m really getting caught up in this primary, not so much for the contents of what people are saying, but for the freedom of speech and democracy issues it is bring up for me.  I was so pleased the other day when a judge ruled Kucinich had to be allowed in the primaries.  But, nope, NBC got an emergency injunction.

Here’s from IndependentPrimary.com:

Fifteen minutes before the NBC Las Vegas debate, the Nevada Supreme Court granted NBC’s “emergency” appeal and barred Dennis Kucinich from the televised debate.

The court held that the “first amendment rights” of a “corporate media outlet” trumped the right of the American people to an open debate process.

What this ruling effectively says is that private, unelected media corporations can decide who can and cannot appear in an officially sanctioned presidential debate. 

This ruling is an extremely dangerous precedent. 

Amen to that!  Things just keep going from bad to worse in this country.  Or at least I keep noticing things are getting worse and worse.  And what’s scarier for me is that most of America just doesn’t care.  That’s the point, isn’t it?  People get the democracy they deserve.  And if we aren’t active and informed members of a democracy, well, we get what’s served.

Well, slap my face and call me Cassandra.  That’s one of my favorite sayings.  For those of you not up on your mythology, Apollo fell in love with Cassandra so granted her prophecy (or more correctly foresight).  But when she didn’t return his love, he cursed her so that no one would believe her warnings.  And that’s me, Cassandra.  I get so frustrated because no one listens to me!

For years and years, I’ve been comparing the US to Rome, or more precisely, I’ve been comparing all of Western civilization to the Roman Empire.  I see this as the corrupted end of our once-great and still pretty good civilization.  But thanks to moral, intellectual, and even sometimes physically weakness and a far too great a love of the material, we are going to lose the civilization we love.  I don’t mean it will happen tomorrow.  It probably won’t happen in my lifetime, but then things move faster these days.  I swear I should have written a book when I started spouting.  Right now I’m reading Are We Rome?, quite enjoying it, but kicking myself.  Cullen Murphy is an engaging and erudite writer, and I recommend the book to you.

This seems like a diversion, but it’s not.  Are we going to allow our government to become more and more powerful and allow our rights to slowly and surely be taken away?    By barring some candidates, NBC is censoring the message voters are hearing.  The government doesn’t have to do it because the media does it for it.  How convenient.

2 Comments »

  1. I was talking to my mother about this Kucinich being barred from the debates this morning. Her comment: “It just shows you how fake it is when they don’t include everyone.”

    Also, saw a really interesting entry on the Tenured Radical blog asking – Didn’t the nonpartisan League of Women Voters used to run these debates? Why aren’t they still running them? Where is the voice of the League of Women Voters during all of these electoral controversies? If they are talking, I am not hearing them on any of my media outlets.

    Comment by Emily — January 17, 2008 @ 5:54 pm |Reply

  2. That’s a very good point! But then I think the LWV is losing its members as much as other organizations that traditionally were made up of stay at home women. Sigh!

    Comment by maggiec — January 18, 2008 @ 2:36 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

