The Broad is Back!

December 6, 2007

iGive

Filed under: holidays,New Broads — by maggiec @ 9:22 pm

It’s crunch time in academia, so no time to write, but I just have to tell you about a program I found through a charity newsletter I read.

iGive.com lets you pick a charity.  Then you download a small program or shop many of your favorite stores through their website and part of your purchase price is given to the charity of your choice.  And it’s great stores I shop at anyway–even e-bay, my shop of choice!  In the past week I’ve donated $8 to my charity, The Robert F. Kennedy Memorial.  That’s not much, but it’s eight bucks they wouldn’t have gotten, and I had to buy the stuff anyway.

If you sign up to the newsletter, you can get specials like free shipping and discounts, too.  Merchants are fighting for our dollars this year, so they are open to incentives. 

I always tell my foreign students that Americans are incredibly generous people.   We’re not the only one’s but we’re pretty good at giving.  This is a painless way to do it and stretch your holiday budget a couple of extra inches.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

