The Broad is Back!

July 4, 2007

Some random observations while traveling through America

Filed under: Uncategorized — by maggiec @ 4:52 pm

Now that I’ve been in the US for three weeks, I’ve been able to make some further random observations.

  • I found the fat people. Yes, there are a lot of them. Huge people like I’ve literally not seen in Europe who come in very odd shapes. It scares me into eating better, and so far I’ve lost six pounds, so this is good.

  • A lot of people eat junk I wouldn’t feed my dog. Every time I go into the stores, I’m amazed at what is being sold to Americans as food. Yes, there has been junk food in every country I’ve ever lived in, but I do believe that most of it at least was a real food product. The level of artificial flavor, color and sweeteners in snack food aimed at kids is alarming.

  • America is woefully behind Europe in public transportation. Too many places just plain don’t have a transport system, and traveling around the US on train is a total joke. Believe me, I’ve tried it.

  • Of course, gas for my car in Sweden is close to $8/gal rather than the $3 here, so I am more than willing to use buses, but Hel-lo??? Bad planning or what? Didn’t the energy crisis of the early 70s teach us anything? We’ve had thirty years to build better public transportation. Dropped the ball on that one.

  • I think I have figured out why so many Americans don’t pay attention to what’s going on in this country. They are too busy trying to decide which brand/flavor/variety to buy. I’ve written about choices before, but just trying to find laundry detergent the other day took me about seven minutes! I know I sound like a curmudgeon (or an idiot) here, but I still get overwhelmed when I go to the Walmart or the “Super Center” grocery stores. They are bigger than some of the schools my son has attended! It is literally overwhelming for me. (You can find past columns on choice here and here.)

  • Too many people drive gas guzzlers. Not only can they not take a bus if they wanted to, their cars are huge! Why? Everybody over here is talking about global warming, but from what I see, there’s a lot of people talking but not acting.

  • Lest I sound like a Euro-snob, let me say this. I was green when I lived in the US to the point of being a shade fanatical. Before my son was born I agonized for months over disposable vs. cloth diapers. I went with cloth after reading that people on the west coast, where there was a lot of drought problem, should use disposable. People on the east coast with landfill problems should use cloth. The environmental impact is about equal, just different. So a lot of the time I let my kid outside in his bare butt. Unfortunately, I seemed to have created a monster who prefers being nekkid. Not a good thing now that he’s 16.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

